What the Heck is the Tavistock Cup?

No, really, I would like to know, so I figure maybe more people would like to know.

Oh, did I mention that spectators are invite-only? Yeah. Seriously, a tournament between two high-price country clubs and some of the richest men in the world…the proletarian golfer in me is cringing. But huzzah! The winning team gets $1 million to divide up among each golfer’s chosen charity or charities (in addition to lots of money and posh prizes including Audi’s in winnings and sponsored by workout gear lab – you can read best shoes for crossfit article from Julia by following link).

Ahem…The Tavistock Cup is named for the company that owns two planned communities in Orlando, Florida that each have a pretty killer golf course and the requisite country club. These two tony “communities” started attracting some high-profile golfers as members, and those guys started talking smack in the cluhouses, wondering if this country club went up against that country club, who would win. Yeah, a part of me wants to punch them in the face, too.

But alas, those same golfers decided to go forward with that hypothetical golf mega-talent tournament. And we have the Tavistock Cup — a two-day battle royale between Lake Isleworth and Lake Nona Country Clubs. This year’s tournament, the sixth so far, is being played on the Lake Nona course, consistently named in the top 100 courses in the world. Next year, the tournament rotates back to Lake Isleworth.

The 2009 Tavistock Cup wrapped up today, and Team Nona won 17-13 over Isleworth. And who is Team Nona you ask? Only Captain Ernie Els and his merry band of men: Fellow South Africans Retief Goosen and Trevor Immelman, Americans Chris DiMarco and Ben Curtis, Irish Mark McNulty and Graeme McDowell (Northern), Brits Ian Poulter and Justin Rose, and finally Swedish nudist Henrik Stenson.

Team Isleworth is headed by Mark O’Meara, but the big name is Tiger Woods. On his part, Tiger did not lose a round (he tied and lost a half-point to Poulter). The other Isle-ie’s are JB Holmes, Charles Howell III, John Cook, all Americans; Australians Robert Allenby, Stuart Appleby, and Nick O’Hern; the Northern Irish Darren Clarke and the Swede Daniel Chopra.